Large Isometric world and a few general questions.
Varen

Hi all,

I came across Wade looking for an engine for an isometric hobby project. My background is mostly in backend programming with a little bit of Javascript knowledge. From what I gather from the documentation Wade fits my requirements nicely, but it'd be great if someone with some experience could confirm the basic concept is possible. (Or any changes I should make to keep things running smoothly.)

What I want to do:

1) Have a large isometric map. At least 8k by 8k tiles, but possibly 2-8 times larger.

Would Wade be able to handle an isometric map of this size? The responses here http://clockworkchilli.com/forum/thread?id=Wade_and%20really%20large%20isometric%20game%20map.___40 appear to be very promising but I'm not sure about the significantly larger scale. There would be very few unique tile textures (less than 100) with each tile being around 32 or 64 pixels.

I'd very much like to not have to implement paging manually. Even better, if tiles outside of the screen are not being drawn is there a function I can hook into for loading data when certain tiles enter the visible area?

For loading this whole thing I'm hoping to use an image. (Each specific color corresponding to a tile type.) Is this reasonable?

2) Smooth movement (not tile based) of some entities with other entities moving tile based.

Does the engine support this out of the box? The examples appear to go either or.

3) Multiplayer

I understand the engine doesn't have any built in support for this. I'm planning to use Firebase to handle this aspect, loading non-map elements from here dynamically. This would include vegetation, but also creatures and other players. Is there anything in the engine that would make this problematic?

Thanks,

Varen

All 2 Comments
Gio

Hi Varen

Interesting questions. Let's start with the ones that are easy to answer:

2) yes you can mix and match