Performace Problems, physics game.
mandre96

Hello,I'm making an angry birds like game for an university work and I'm struggling with performace issues.In the editor,runs amazingly well.In my PC via mozila it runs smooth,but not as well as in the editor.But my PC is pretty dam good, and when i tryed in other PCs it peforms badly.I know its an very specific problem and it is not possible to solve without having acess to my project itself but what I need its some tips, since I'm not an experienced programmer.Some questions:

◘Does opacity, fade in and out brings the performace down?

◘Does camera movement?Continuous collision detection(bullet=>true)?

◘Does the minimun size?

◘The number of Weblgl layers?

If you guys have any tips,I would be immensely grateful.

Marcos Andre.

All 3 Comments
foxcode

I dont think you should be having any performance issues making an angry birds like game. We made one ourselves on youtube and didn't have any issues with performance at all.

Without seeing your code it's difficult to say what could be causing the issues. If you like, you could download your code from the editor, and email it as an attachment to clockworkchilli@gmail.com and I could have a look for anything obvious.

Alternatively there are some basic things you could check.

• If you are drawing large images, try to avoid moving them if possible once drawn. If the image is not moved, it does not have to be redrrawn, this can make a big difference
  • Remove any console logs you may have in update functions as this can slow things down a little

Most modern pc's have ample cpu power to run whatever you are likely to make with WADE. I Think it's more likey to be a rendering issue, trying to draw too many pixels too often. Perhaps Gio can be of more help, this is really his area

Gio

◘Does opacity, fade in and out brings the performace down?

No

◘Does camera movement?Continuous collision detection(bullet=>true)?